Death Penalty For ‘The U’?

18 Aug

Will the Miami Hurricanes' football program go by way of Timothy McVeigh?

Let me shed light on a particular piece of news that has caught my attention for the last two days. If you haven’t heard about it, I’ll spare you my subpar summarizing skills, just read the article written by Yahoo! Sports’ Charles Robinson after the jump.

http://sports.yahoo.com/investigations/news?slug=cr-renegade_miami_booster_details_illicit_benefits_081611

All caught up? Good.

The question begs: what’s next for this storied football program? This scandal blows Ohio State and USC out of the water and, unfortunately, is probably only a tip of the iceberg. This just in folks: college football is corrupt.

My contention is this: yes, it is the system that’s in place that allows this to happen (abortions? ABORTIONS?!). There needs to be a dramatic change in the flow of money in college sports, and the NCAA is just as much to blame in this as anybody. However, the hammer has to come down on ‘The U.’ I hate to use the cliche, but they need to make an example out of this situation. Grow from this, heal from this, and move on. You have to throw the book at them; this is out of control.

What sayeth all of you? I’m curious to hear what y’all have to say.

I leave you with one of my fondest memories of Hurricanes football. Ladies and gentlemen, the 7th Floor Crew!

 

2 Responses to “Death Penalty For ‘The U’?”

  1. LaBadia August 18, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    That’s fucking great… I don’t know why everyone is so upset with something that’s been going on since the 70’s…. H

  2. LaBadia August 18, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    However I hope my man Sam Shields doesn’t get jamed up for taking a TV..

Leave a Reply

