NFL Week 2 Point Spreads

17 Sep

A week late once again, but this was something I had in mind for awhile. Contrary to popular belief, I actually have a lot of ideas for this website, but haven’t had the motivation in weeks past. And now that I do, I simply don’t have the manpower. With my first week’s stint at Bleacher Report a huge success (seriously, go over and search for me. I could not be happier with the reception I got), NFL pieces that I want to have a little more control over and that I don’t think would get a tremendous amount of readership over there will go here. This also gives me a forum to be a little less professional, which is always nice.

Anyway, I’ll admit, I’ve never actually bet on sports. Well, I think once in second grade I bet a kid five dollars the Raiders would win in a Monday night game against the Kansas City Chiefs. I’ve always wanted to because it just seems awesome and I actually know a decent amount about football. So this year, since I don’t have any money to gamble with, I’m going to do a dry run throughout the season and see how I stack up. If I’m well over .500, I’ll try and find a bookie or something for next year. If I’m under, I’ll just continue doing what I normally do: waste my money on stupid junk. Let’s get to it, shall we?

Chicago Bears (+6.5) at New Orleans Saints – Wow, I already hate this. On first inspection, I had the Saints winning this in a landslide. They’re at home, coming off a loss in Week 1, and I think have the much better team in this matchup. Yet, every time I hate on the Bears, they continue to surprise me. I should’ve learned my lesson last year. They did it to me again in Week 1 against an overmatched Falcons teams. I can’t see them losing by seven or more points in this, even if I really like the Saints and think they’ll go deep into the playoffs. Plus, the whole Brian Urlacher thing looms over this game. I think he’ll have a monster game. Yep, going with Chicago.

Kansas City Chiefs (+8) at Detroit Lions – I still think the Chiefs are bad, but this bad? I don’t see it. I think they’ll cover the spread, I see them losing this game close. I think the Lions are good, but I don’t think they’re the juggernauts everyone is making them out to be. Last I checked, they were still the Detroit Lions.

Jacksonville Jaguars (+9) at New York Jets – The Jets win all their games close. Especially at home. Doesn’t matter who it’s against. Nine points is a lot. Give me Luke McCown (now I see why people hate doing this).

Oakland Raiders (+3) at Buffalo Bills – Wait a minute, I just noticed. I’m actually picking all the road teams? AND the underdogs to cover (and win in some cases) Mercy me. This is a homer pick. I’d love to be 2-0 again, it’s been too long. Let’s just go to the next one.

Washington Redskins (-3.5) vs. Arizona Cardinals – That’s more like it. I think Washington can make some noise this year and I have nothing to base this on. I think Time Hightower has a monster game against his former team that spurned him. Washington wins comfortably.

Baltimore Ravens (-6) at Tennessee Titans – If the Titans lost to the Jaguars who I think is the worst team in the division, they’re in trouble. Baltimore wins big.

Pittsburgh Steelers (-14) vs. Seattle Seahawks – This is going to be an ugly game. If it’s even remotely close, the Steelers are in more trouble than we realize. They always come back strong after a loss.

Green Bay Packers (-10) at Carolina Panthers – It was fun while it lasted. Welcome back to Earth, Cam Newton.

Tampa Bay Buccaneers (+3) at Minnesota Vikings – Talk about hitting that panic button. How are the Vikings favored in this? They threw for 39 yards last week no? I know they’re at home but come on. I think they give the rock to Blount a lot more this week. They win it. Or at the very least cover. Jesus, the Vikings?

Cleveland Browns (-2) at Indianapolis Colts – If the Browns beat the Bengals last week, I’d probably go the other way. But they need this game. And the Colts are terrible. Give me them Brownies!

Dallas Cowboys (-3) at San Francisco 49ers – Bah, easiest pick of the week. Cowboys come out with something to prove here.

Houston Texans (-3) at Miami Dolphins – Really wanted to abstain from this. I would just stay away from this one.

New England Patriots (-7) vs. San Diego Chargers – Oh wait, this is at New England? Ok, gotcha.

Denver Broncos (-3.5) vs. Cincinnati Bengals – I think the Broncos are better than people think. And the Bengals’ win last week will be one of their only ones on the season.

Philadelphia (-2.5) at Atlanta Falcons – Won’t be by much more, but I think the Eagles take this one. The Falcons match up very poorly against Philly.

New York Giants (-6) vs. St. Louis Rams – The Giants take this one at home over the ailing Rams.

Season 0-0

Leave a Reply

